Thoughts of a Rare Bird

A Strange Thing My Body Does: Curious if Others Experience Something Similar

Hi all. Today I wanted to talk about something my body does. I don't understand why it does this, and I'm wondering if any chronically ill people out there can relate. None of my currently diagnosed conditions really explain it either, as far as I know.

When I go through a change, whether it's something in my body or environmental, or a combination of the two, it's like my body "freaks out" (my words for it). I might have cold spells, where I know it's not cold around me, but my body acts like it is, muscle spasms that are worse than usual, and other symptoms that seem to just come out of nowhere. When I go through a cold spell, I shiver uncontrollably and feel like I can't get warm, and my teeth chatter.

Yesterday, I had all four of my wisdom teeth extracted. Everything went really well, but Last night, while I was lying on our couch, the freakout started. I had all the symptoms of a cold spell and really bad muscle spasms in my legs. My mom put me to bed and had to turn off my fan and give me an extra blanket, and even then, it took a couple hours for everything to pass. I woke up in the middle of the night sweating.

Other times something like this has happened were after losing a lot of weight to prepare for bariatric surgery (weight loss surgery) which we didn't end up going through with (that's a whole other story there), and getting into a pool that was a little too cold. It seems like any change can trigger it.

To those with chronic illnesses and rare diseases, do you deal with anything like this? Just curious, and it would be nice to have some idea what condition might be causing it as well. Let me know in the comments.

Thoughts? Leave a comment